• Welcome to https://albinowners.net, the new home of Albin Owners Group!
• You will need to log in here, and you may want to bookmark this site. If you don't remember your password, use the I forgot my password link to reset it.
• All content has been transferred from our previous site. Digests will be enabled soon.
Contact Us if you have any questions or notice a problem. If you're not receiving our email, include a phone number where we can text you.

new member - Bob

New members introduce themselves to the group here.
Bob
Gold Member
Gold Member

new member - Bob

Post by Bob »

In June, I purchased a l987 Albin, 27', aft cabin. With the help of a friend we brought it home to Narragansett, R.I. 10 rough and rainy hours later we had her at her new home - a mooring just south of the Jamestown Bridge in North Kingstown. I've wanted a boat like this for a long time, and finally the timing seemed right. I'm a complete novice. The first thing to learn was how to approach a mooring, alone, and snag it. This went pretty well for a while, until late in the summer I over shot it, put it into reverse and you guessed it, I wrapped it around the shaft. Thank God for a great friend who had an aqua lung. No damage to the shaft. JUST 124.00 FOR A NEW LINE ! I shamefully told a few boat owners what I had done and they just laughed, said welcome to the group, and would top my error with some real beauties. This boat is just about everything I've dreamed of. I just hope she loves her new home as much as we love her.
Cape Codder
Gold Member
Gold Member

Post by Cape Codder »

Hey Bob, welcome aboard.
Your mistake with over shooting the mooring is a common one...don't worry...there will be more!!
Boating is great in 2008!!
Happy New Year!!
Bob
2003 Albin 28 TE
Santosha
jcollins
In Memorium
Home Port: Baltimore

Post by jcollins »

Bob,
Welcome to the board and to Albin boats. I have never even tried to snag a mooring. I'm sure it will be a joke if I ever do.
John